Joseph L. Stiles


Joe Stiles is a member of the firm’s Commercial Real Estate and Business Law departments where he focuses his practice on commercial real estate transactions including property acquisition, zoning, finance, development and lease negotiation. In addition, Joe formerly served as in-house counsel to a property management and development company. This provided him significant experience with general corporate legal matters including entity formation, corporate policy and governance documents, reporting and corporate compliance filings, and project financing.

Real Estate Development and Finance
Commercial and Real Estate Lending
Business Organizations and Corporations

• Virginia
• North Carolina

Representative Matters
• Provided advice on commercial property acquisition, portfolio management, real estate strategies and financing.
• Assisted commercial and residential clients with property and tenant management concerns and regulatory compliance efforts.
• Served as lender’s counsel to regional and national banks’ commercial investment groups.
• Assisted public and private entities on general business and corporate matters including formation, restructuring, transaction approaches, tax planning, contract drafting and negotiation.

University of Richmond School of Law, J.D., 2013

Hampden-Sydney College, B.A., Government and Foreign Affairs, 2010

St. Anne’s College, Oxford University, Certificate in Literature and History, 2008


Virginia State Bar
• Real Property Section
• Business Law Section
• Corporate Counsel Section

Virginia Bar Association
• Real Estate Section
• Business Law Section

The Bar Association of the City of Richmond
• Real Estate Section
• Business Law Section

Hampden-Sydney Bar Association
• Member, 2016-present

• Member, 2023-present

Hampton Roads Association for Commercial Real Estate

• Local Affairs Committee, 2020-present

North Carolina State Bar

North Carolina Bar Association


Norfolk Historical Society
• Member, 2020-present

Historic Richmond Foundation
• Junior Board, 2015-2018